Minnesota Chapter of ASM International

2018 - November 14 - Electrochromics

“Electrochromics – From Discovery to Commercialization: A Very Long Journey….”

Dr. Jean-Christophe Giron, SageGlass

Wednesday, November 14th, 2018

Turning “off” windows with the flip of a switch?! Long thought of as science fiction, the ability to adjust light transmission through glass at the touch of a button is now a reality. Electrochromic materials are able to change their optical properties with application of a voltage. When applied to substates, these glazings have many important commercial applications.

Dr. Jean-Christophe Giron will tell the history of the discovery of electrochromic materials, and discuss the challenges that were overcome to make them a commercially viable product. The focus of the talk will be on two of the most successful commercial applications for electrochromics: rear view mirrors and building windows. We will then project ourselves into the future and see how electrochromic windows are becoming IOT objects!

Dr. Jean-Christophe Giron is the Vice President of R&D and Product Development at SageGlass located in Faribault, MN. SageGlass is recognized as the leader in electrochromic technology. Their electrochromic glass has been installed in hundreds of projects and buildings around the globe. Dr. Giron is responsible for managing research and product development for SageGlass worldwide. He is listed as an inventor on over 400 patents. In 2005, Dr. Giron received the Ferrari technology award, was nominated as the European Inventor of the Year by the European Patent Office in 2015, and was a 2018 finalist of the Marius Lavet Engineer & Inventor Prize.

Location Green Mill Plymouth
2705 Annapolis Lane
Registrations are now closed


Al Swiglo
Al SwigloSwiglo Metallurgical ConsultingASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Michael Bissen
Michael BissenAbbottASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$25.00$0.00Pay now with Paypal (fee)
Ryan Haase
Ryan HaaseMaterials Evaluation and EngineeringASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Dehua Yang
Dehua YangEbatcoASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
DevinDonaldsonASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Lisa Swartz
Lisa SwartzPhysical ElectronicsASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$25.00$0.00Pay now with Paypal (fee)
Jean-Christophe GironSpeaker for This Event $0
Hugh Robinson
Hugh RobinsonCrane EngineeringASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$25.00$0.00Pay now with Paypal (fee)
LarryMaterials Evaluation and Engineering, IncASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Ben Schmidt
Ben SchmidtPhysical ElectronicsNon Member $30 ($30.00)$30.00$0.00$30.00Pay at the Door
Kurt Schenk
Kurt SchenkMEEASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$25.00$0.00Pay now with Paypal (fee)
Joe Hirvela
Joe HirvelaCPP Minneapolis OperationASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Jennifer Mann
Jennifer MannPhysical ElectronicsNon Member $30 ($30.00)$30.00$0.00$30.00Pay at the Door
Alan Marschall
Alan MarschallPhysical ElectronicsNon Member $30 ($30.00)$30.00$0.00$30.00Pay at the Door
John Newman
John NewmanPhysical ElectronicsNon Member $30 ($30.00)$30.00$0.00$30.00Pay at the Door
Joy Clifford
Joy CliffordASM MN ChapterSpeaker for This Event $0$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Les Engel
Les EngelEngel MetallurgicalASM Member $25 ($25.00)$50.00$0.00$50.00Pay at the Door
Jim BrussoASM Member $25 ($25.00)
Ethan Ambroziak
Ethan AmbroziakBoston ScientificASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Mark Baker
Mark BakerUTC Aerospace SystemsASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Lloyd Meissner
Lloyd MeissnerCrane EngineeringASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$25.00$0.00Pay now with Paypal (fee)
Steven Axdal
Steven Axdal AbbottASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
AttendeeAttendee NameCompanyAttendee TypeTotal FeesAmount PaidOutstanding BalancePayment Method