Minnesota Chapter of ASM International

2018 - April 18th - Trustee Visit

Vacuum Furnaces were made for Additive Manufacturing

Abstract: Additive Manufacturing is rapidly becoming today’s buzz word. AM is rapidly replacing various manufacturing processes as its being accepted in various machining markets. The vacuum furnace plays a vital role in the proper heat treatment of AM parts. This presentation will review basic AM procedures and the role that vacuum treating is utilized as a support function of the final product.

Mr. Roger Jones, ASM Trustee (2016-2019)
Corporate President
Solar Atmospheres
Souderton, PA

Roger A. Jones is Corporate President of Solar Atmospheres. He attended Hocking Technical College, and then joined ABAR Corporation in 1975. At the founding of vacuum Furnace Systems in 1978, Roger began working at the company along with his father, William R. Jones, FASM.

In 1983, Roger assisted with the founding of Solar Atmospheres, Inc., as Vice President, moving up to Corporate President in 2001. Early on, he established Solar Atmospheres’ strategic management team. Today, Solar is the largest privately owned vacuum heat treating company in North America, with four heat treat facilities.

A member of the Metal Treating Institute since 1983, Roger served as Chair of the Atlantic Coast Chapter in 1994. He has been on the Program Committee since 1995 and is currently Co-chair. A member of the Board of Trustees since 1998, Roger was President of the Institute from 2004-2005. He was called back onto the board in 2009 for a third term.

Roger has chaired nine committees since becoming a member of ASM Philadelphia “Liberty Bell” Chapter in 1983. He became his company’s sustaining member representative in 1986. Roger was Philadelphia Chapter Chairman for 1993-94. He instructed chapter-sponsored MEI courses and continues to support the local chapter, the backbone of ASM.

At the ASM International level, Roger served on and chaired numerous committees, including the Membership Committee (Chair 1996-1997). He chaired the Heat Treating Society (HTS) Immediate Needs Committee, as well as its Education Committee, and continues as a member. Roger served on the Nominating Committee for two separate terms. He is also a member of the HTS T&P Committee. In 2005, Roger was appointed to the HTS Board and continues to serve.

Roger received many local awards from the Philadelphia Chapter, and was the recipient of the William Hunt Eisenman Award in 2001, as well as the Distinguished Service Award in 2004. In 2009, he received the President’s Award. Awards from MTI include the President’s Award and the Program Service Award in 2002. He received the Distinguished Service Award in 2009 and the Award of Merit in 2011. Roger has given talks and published various technical papers in Industrial Heating, Advanced Materials and Processes, and Heat Treating Progress.

During Roger’s presidency at Solar Atmospheres, the company has received many awards. In 1997, Solar Atmospheres was honored by Industrial Heating and MTI as “Commercial Heat Treater of the Year-Master Craftsman Award.” Through Roger’s leadership and involvement in the ASM Philadelphia Chapter, Solar received the “Outstanding Company Support Award” in 1996 and again in 2006.

Location Green Mill Plymouth
2705 Annapolis Lane
Registrations are now closed


Dehua Yang
Dehua YangEbatco(On Past Chair Night) Former MN Chair $0$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Farida Kasumzade
Farida KasumzadeMax Consulting Firm(On Past Chair Night) Former MN Chair $0$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Brittany Nelson-Cheeseman
Brittany Nelson-CheesemanUniversity of St. ThomasNon Member $30 ($30.00)$30.00$0.00$30.00Pay at the Door
Gary Flick
Gary FlickBodycoteASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Karen Bennett
Karen BennettAllied High TechASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Devin Williamson
Devin WilliamsonEbatcoASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Mark Weiss
Mark WeissCrane EngineeringASM Member $25 ($25.00)$75.00$75.00$0.00Pay now with Paypal (fee)
Hugh RobinsonASM Member $25 ($25.00)
LLoyd MeissnerASM Member $25 ($25.00)
Cecelia Kinane
Cecelia KinaneUniversity of St. ThomasNon Member $30 ($30.00)$30.00$0.00$30.00Pay at the Door
Joe Hirvela
Joe HirvelaCPP Minneapolis Operation(On Past Chair Night) Former MN Chair $0$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Paul Nagata
Paul NagataVista OutdoorASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Lester Engel
Lester EngelEngel MetallurgicalASM Member $25 ($25.00)$50.00$0.00$50.00Pay at the Door
James BrussoASM Member $25 ($25.00)
David Gerty
David GertyRetiredASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Kurt Schenk
Kurt SchenkMEEASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$25.00$0.00Pay now with Paypal (fee)
Lisa Swartz
Lisa SwartzPHIASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$25.00$0.00Pay now with Paypal (fee)
Mark Baker
Mark BakerUTC Aerospace SystemsASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
John Murnane
John MurnaneNorthland ComponentsASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
Pankaj Gupta
Pankaj GuptaAbbottASM Member $25 ($25.00)$25.00$0.00$25.00Pay at the Door
AttendeeAttendee NameCompanyAttendee TypeTotal FeesAmount PaidOutstanding BalancePayment Method