Minnesota Chapter of ASM International

2018 October 10th - U of M

MN Chapter of ASM Meeting at the University of Minnesota

October 10th, 2018

 Title: Composites Tailored for Service Under Extreme Conditions: Developing the Science Behind Damage-Tolerant Nanomaterials

Author: Nathan A. Mara, PhD, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, U of M - Minneapolis, Minnesota


Richard Feynman in his famous 1959 lecture described the potential for atomic-scale manipulation of matter and the fantastic control over material performance that could result. Today, this potential has been realized through advancements in materials synthesis, simulation, characterization, and property measurement. In this vein, I will present one recent example where atomic scale defect/interface interactions profoundly influence the mechanical performance of nanocomposite materials. As a result of their high interface content and atomic level interfacial structure, these materials exhibit an order of magnitude increase in strength, rolling deformation to large strains, greater thermal stability, and enhanced radiation damage resistance in comparison to their coarse-grained counterparts. Bulk Cu-Nb nanolayered composites are processed from 1 mm thick polycrystalline sheets down to individual layer thicknesses of 10 nm using Accumulative Roll Bonding. This Advanced Manufacturing technique has the advantage of producing bulk quantities (kilograms) of nanocomposite material, and results in rolling textures, interfacial defect structures, and deformation mechanisms very different from those seen in nanolayered composites grown via Physical Vapor Deposition methods. Mechanical behavior as evaluated via micropillar compression, and bulk tension/compression will be discussed in terms of the effects of interfacial structure on deformation processes at diminishing length scales.

Biography of Dr. Nathan A. Mara:

Dr. Nathan Mara arrived at the University of Minnesota as an Associate Professor in November 2017 from the Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies (CINT) at Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL). There, he was a co-director of the Institute for Materials Science at LANL, and Thrust Leader for the Nanoscale Electronics and Mechanics thrust at CINT. His research focuses on the relationship between microstructure and mechanical behavior at the nanoscale, with an emphasis on structural applications in extreme environments such as high temperature, stresses, strain rates, and radiation environments. Dr. Mara is the past chairman (chair 2013-2015) of the Nanomechanical Materials Behavior Committee of TMS, and has published ~130 peer-reviewed journal articles spanning topics from synthesis of bulk nanocomposites to performance of advanced materials under extreme conditions. He received the TMS Young Leader’s Professional Development Award in 2012, the LANL Distinguished Mentor Performance Award in 2010 for his dedication to undergraduate and graduate student education at LANL, and the 2017 International Journal of Plasticity Young Investigator Award for his contributions to understanding plastic deformation and mechanisms of metals and nanocomposites.


5:15  Reception with UMN Faculty and Students.  Hors d'oeuvres and drinks will be served.

5:30  Materials Science Undergraduate Poster Session

6:20  Presentation by Associate Professor Nathan Mara


Click on the registration link at http://mnasm.org and register for the event by Friday October 5 at 5 pm. Cost to ASM Members is $20.


The reception and poster session will be held in 287 Amundson Hall (in the Gore Annex) and the presentation will be held in 151D Amundson Hall on the East Bank of the Minneapolis Campus at the University of Minnesota.


UMN Contact - Prof. Russell Holmes (612) 624-9058; This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

MN Chapter contact - Joy Clifford (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)




Location UMN - Amundson Hall - D151
421 Washington Avenue SE
Registrations are now closed


John PhanUniversity of MinnesotaUofM Student$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Lisa Swartz
Lisa SwartzPhysical ElectronicsASM Member ($20.00)$20.00$20.00$0.00Pay now with Paypal (fee)
Christophe Chandler
Christophe ChandlerWater Gremlin Co.ASM Member ($20.00)$20.00$0.00$20.00Pay at the Door
Al Swiglo
Al SwigloSwiglo Metallurgical ConsultingASM Member ($20.00)$20.00$0.00$20.00Pay at the Door
Pankaj Gupta
Pankaj GuptaAbbottASM Member ($20.00)$20.00$0.00$20.00Pay at the Door
Steven Axdal
Steven AxdalAbbottASM Member ($20.00)$20.00$0.00$20.00Pay at the Door
Jack Van Sambeek
Jack Van SambeekUMN StudentUofM Student$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Devin Williamson
Devin WilliamsonDonaldsonASM Member ($20.00)$20.00$0.00$20.00Pay at the Door
Lorraine Francis
Lorraine FrancisUniversity of MinnesotaUofM Faculty$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Mark Weiss
Mark WeissCrane EngineeringASM Member ($20.00)$20.00$0.00$20.00Pay at the Door
Joe Hirvela
Joe HirvelaCPP Minneapolis OperationASM Member ($20.00)$20.00$0.00$20.00Pay at the Door
Karl Olson
Karl OlsonStudentUofM Student$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Trevor Steiner
Trevor SteinerUofMUofM Student$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Chris Ellison
Chris EllisonUniversity of MinnesotaUofM Faculty$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Kavinraaj Ella Elangovan
Kavinraaj Ella Elangovan University of Minnesota Twin Cities UofM Student$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Katherine Gramling
Katherine GramlingUMNUofM Student$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Mike Manno
Mike MannoUniversity of MinnesotaUofM Faculty$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Michael McGrath
Michael McGrathUofMUofM Student$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Sophie FItzPatrick
Sophie FItzPatrickNAUofM Student$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Nathan Mara
Nathan MaraUniversity of MinnesotaUofM Faculty$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Nicholas Licht
Nicholas LichtMatSci undergradUofM Student$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Phuc Ha
Phuc HaStudentUofM Student$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Ben Binger
Ben BingerNAUofM Student$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
Michael Bissen
Michael BissenCirtec MedicalASM Member ($20.00)$20.00$20.00$0.00Pay now with Paypal (fee)
Mark Baker
Mark BakerUTC Aerospace SystemsASM Member ($20.00)$20.00$0.00$20.00Pay at the Door
Dehua Yang
Dehua YangEbatcoASM Member ($20.00)$20.00$0.00$20.00Pay at the Door
Logan Karls
Logan KarlsN/AUofM Student$0.00$0.00$0.00Pay at the Door
AttendeeAttendee NameCompanyAttendee TypeTotal FeesAmount PaidOutstanding BalancePayment Method